Director’s Comments

Since moving to LA (about three weeks ago) my apartment building has yet to het cable or wifi in any of the units, which brings me to this local Starbucks I am blogging from.

Yes, I have been surviving without cable and wifi, how? DVD’s of course! But what to do when I’ve seen all my DVD’s more than a dozen times? I decided I’d give watching them with the director’s commentary on a try.

Watching film with commentary was something I hadn’t ever done before, but after now I wish I had made it a habit sooner. Watching a favorite film while the brains behind it tells you about it brings movie watching to a whole new level.

The first movie I watched was Frida, director Julie Taymor. This movie has significance for me on many levels. Salma Hayek is an amazing actress, Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera are two of my favorite artists and I’m Mexican-American.

Hearing Taymor’s talk about how much Frida means to her made me connect to her and her film even more. Hearing how she got certain shots and explain how the chose the music was picked for the film was as entertaining as the movie itself.

For example, I had not clue Alfred Molina (actor who plays Diego Rivera) was a British actor and he gained 20 pounds and they had to pull his hairline back for filming. Or that parts of the movie within one scene there are in two different location, but they are made to look like one.

Girl, Interrupted was the second movie I was with James Mangold’s comments. Again, it made me fall in love all over again with the story, actors and the cinematography. Mangold is very much an artist and him explaining that no matter how big your budget is for a movie and how much of an experienced directore you are, filming in a car is one of the trickest things todo and will dwindle down any crew to there men.

Ti’m Burton’s Sleepy Hollow was the third movie I watched with the director’s input and as much as I enjoy and respect Tim Burton’s art and films, he is perfect example that not all directors can go on and two hours what it took to make their film and how the did it. He would input comments here and there, but most of the time didn’t say much. He would say things like, “I really like this shot, but I don’t know why.” It goes to show some artist cannot explain how or why they create something, but can certainly deliver.

2 thoughts on “Director’s Comments

  1. Nice post! My poetry teacher always used to say that life is about looking at old things in new ways; it looks like you’ve found a way to revisit your DVD collection! I hope you do more posts like this. I hardly ever watch the Director’s Commentary myself, but perhaps it would be worthwhile to do so someday.

    • Thank you! It’s a new found habit! You should totally give it a try, it makes the movie so much more fun to watch. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

