Top 12 Beauty Finds of 2012

Glitter on the Ceiling:Top 12 Beauty Finds of 2012

2012 was not only a great year for fashion, but a great year for beauty. I never got into the ombre hair trend and I’ve never been a false eyelash kind of girl, but there were some products I tried in the last 12 months that have quickly become part of my daily and nightly regimen. Here are my top 12 beauty products for 2012!

1. MAC Oil Control Lotion {$31} I have oily skin. Scratch that, I have VERY oil skin and this lotion/moisturizer from MAC controls the excess oil my skin produces. It doesn’t dry my skin like other “oil control lotions”. I use to go through packs of oil absorbent sheets, but now my skin stays just the right amount of oil free.

2. Bumble & Bumble Straight Blow Dry {$28} This helps me get a sleek and straightest blow out. Not only does this stuff protect my hair from the heat of my blow dryer, flat iron and curler, it also smells amazing!

3. Sheercover Base Perfecter Primer {$43} On top of oily skin, I have large pores (I know, I’m blessed). After I apply my toner and MAC lotion and put a nickel size dollop  of this primer on my cheeks, nose and chin. I’ve used a countless number of primers and this product gives my makeup the perfect matte finish without making me oily.

4. Bliss Body Butter {$29} The title says it all, make your body feel as smooth as butter, but makes you smell like hints of lemon and sage. It’s pretty addicting.

5. Joico K-Pak Protect and Shine Serum {$15} Forget hairspray, when I have little fly away hairs, this serum does the trick. I use about a dime size amount and put it on my ends and my bangs, taking away any tiny bit of frizz and sealing everything off nicely.

6. Origins Eye Doctor Cream {$34} The skin around your eye is the most sensitive area on your face, treat  it with lots of care. Something I noticed when I was shopping for eye creams is that they’re SO expensive! I’m a firm believer that they’re just some things you need to spend more on, but $110 for an eye cream was not something I could bring myself to do. This product not only has hydrated and improve my eye area, but it’s less than $50 and it’s all natural. That’s a win in my beauty book.

7. Proactiv Deep Cleansing Brush {$39} I got this in my Beauty Con gift bag and I don’t think I’ve loved any beauty tool more. I use it at least once a week, sometimes twice and within a couple of weeks I had notice my skin looking SO much better. If you have oily skin you should be exfoliating once a week, dry skin about once every two weeks.

8. Lorac Pro Mascara {$23} I was lucky to also get this at Beauty Con and I love this mascara! On more than a couple occasions people thought I was wearing faux-lashes! When I use this mascara, I never have to curl my lashes, it’s awesome.

9. Urban Decay Brow Box {$29} Everything you need for your brows in one tiny box. Two colors, wax, the ideal brush and tweezers. Perfection.

10. Revlon 1″ Curling Iron {$15} In June I decided I wanted to start doing something different to my hair other than my pin straight look, I wanted the soft waves. Several YouTube videos and this amazing, yet inexpensive tool made that possible.

11. Makeup Forever Sens’Eyes {$24} This eye makeup remover takes off everything and I mean everything. From waterproof mascara to stubborn glitter eyeshadow, there is nothing this lip and eye makeup remover cannot handle.

12. Philosophy Purity Facial Cleanser {$32} The first time I used this cleanser was ON New Years Day, well more like 4:00am after a night out. My friend let me borrow some of her’s and when I woke up the next morning and my skin felt amazing I knew I had to add this one-step cleanser to my regimen because any product that can wash off a night New Years Eve makeup is a keeper!

2 thoughts on “Top 12 Beauty Finds of 2012

  1. Pingback: Spring Beauty Essentials | Glitter on the Ceiling

Leave a Reply

